Can you see that!!

I want to talk about a story that my mother told me years ago that still stays fresh in my mind. She once told me that there were two brothers. One was the talk of the nation as a success and the other was a drunken unemployed miserable man. The news spread around the city that they lived in and it spread like wild-fire the most powerful business man has a brother who is leading a life in the slums. They interviewed both the brothers. They asked them this one question. “Who do you hold responsible for your situation that you are in today?” They both replied the same answer. “My father”.

The ups and downs of life, the high and the low, the good and the bad days, through thick and thin, and many more such words are often used to sum up life. I often ask myself a question and find it to be a loop in itself. Who leads a better life? The one who saw more ups than downs, or is it the one who on the whole saw a bigger chunk of ups and downs in life? In case you are wondering about the answer by the two brothers, I’ll explain about them in a minute.  Now, let’s go back to the ups and downs, shall we. Does any thinking go into the fact about how you see those ups and downs? Well as a matter of fact, I learnt that ups and downs are a part of the each and every individual that ever took birth.  And I’m not talking about the mundane issues like I wish I could go and shop for shoes more often. Or I wish we had a better car. I hope someday I’ll have no problems in life.That’s going to be a never-ending process. I’m talking about times when you walk and ask yourself, “What am I doing? I don’t think this is going to work out anymore.”

There are so many success stories today that I’ve read about who almost quit when they were down. Many of the great actors don’t make it because they can’t get up. Oprah Winfrey, Jennifer Aniston, Anupam Kher, Amitabh Bachan, Halle Berry are so a few that come to my mind right now. What’s common between them, Mr Blogger? Is that what you are thinking probably?  Homeless and on the verge of quitting. So what I think about is who leads a better life, the ones that never came down or the ones that were down and thought they would never make it back up? Think about it, I’m just writing a blog page and I don’t want to tell you that I have expert words on this. This is what I’ve thought about.

Back to the story. The Drunken man’s story was that “my father used to beat me and my Mother every day. He used to be an alcoholic. He gambled his money away and we never had a square meal. “The successful man’s reply was my father used to beat me and my Mother every day. He was an alcoholic, and gambled the little money away and we never had a square meal.

Now the drunken man added “I thought this is what life is all about and I did the same.” The successful guy replied, I decided that this would not be my life and started working in the opposite direction. That made the difference. Perspective matters people. I also want to add here that you never leave your lady when she is down.  No matter what.

Leave a Reply

