I left that one out in choice!

281451_10150254581763376_6642901_n                        I don’t know what it feels like to win a race, reach the finish line and cease the moment in monochromatic light with your school. Your friends and your parents would all be cheering for you. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to stop in that moment of triumph and look at all the eyes on you. I don’t know what it feels like to be the leader of a house in the school or the school captain and be the most popular guy that’s around. I don’t know what it feels like to be in a group of friends and be the center that holds the group together. I don’t know what it would be like to get into fights and dominate people around. But you ask anyone my size and they would love to have that position.

Now let’s talk about what I do know. I know how it feels like to start a roar of cheer for the fastest “15 year old” in town that is representing your school. I know what it feels like to shout till your eyes go red and your veins pop out. Studying in a boys school and dancing, centre stage with all the awkward moments as your dressed like a girl [I’m telling you awkward] with the entire school whistling for you [or at you], I know what that’s like too. I know what it’s like to go to school and stand in line with your fingers crossed hoping you would not get pulled up for untidy shoes and run 4 laps around the ground. I know what it feels like to trespass the tennis court and start playing only to go ahead and get caught by the Vice Principal. I so well know the moment when you are gazing out the window and it’s about a minute before for the bell rings, and you get to go home.  And you see the peon walk towards the bell and that makes you so happy. Those 4-5 moments are golden when you see the peon is about to start ringing the bell with a metal stick. Anxious moments are these that shall never be forgotten.

262229_10150254581548376_5474832_n

I know what it’s like to walk out of the exam hall and thinking “I’m not going to discuss the paper with anyone” and the moment someone asks you, “Hey, how did it go man?” and you say “You know the 4th section for paragraph answers, the 2nd one only asks about “How Toto was a playful monkey right? Nothing more, right?”  And you always get the reply “Dude I left that question in choice.”  I know what it’s like to be neglected and I’m happy to say it gives you experience to build character. I know how happy a kid gets or rather as a kid how happy you get when you ask someone the answer in the exam hall and get the right answer form your friend. And I also know how mad you get when you find that the “friend” was wrong. I know how happy you get when a class gets cancelled or how thrilling it gets when you get 2 periods of physical training.  I so well know the happiness you get when your own school triumphs in sports and your voice is drained in hundreds. I know how happy you get when your friend gets caught in class and the time goes on in finding out the truth. I know what it’s like to be scared of teachers and it’s amazing. I know the efforts and pain that you go through to redecorate the school ground when it rains just one day before. I know what it’s like to be a gentleman as you wear your school name. I know what it’s like to believe in the school motto that says “Non-Quam non Paratus” which means “Never Unprepared.”

284049_10150254581848376_2081958_n

Now let’s get back to what I don’t know. I don’t know what it’s like to study all year long to get good grades. I don’t know what it feels like to answer the question your teacher asks when it’s not a test.  By this time guys my age would have let bygones be bygones. I somehow hold on those memories. This is because of one saying that always stays with me when I’m down. You can take me away from the Winner, I repeat by intention “You can take me away from the winner, but you cannot take the Josephite out of me.

One thought on “I left that one out in choice!

Leave a Reply

