@ the The Vagina Monologues.

The V- Word
I recently told my friend at work, that I’m going to a play called the Vagina Maonologue. She looked at me if I had verbally abused her. She quickly walked away and since then I’ve not heard from her. I think sharing the link would have saved me the embaressment. By the way this is a good trick to get rid of people who you think are pretty stuck up in life although she wasn’t like that.

Anyway, Theatre is my favourite medium of retrospect.

                   Now, growing up I never had the courage to ask a girl out. But I was pretty good in other aspects of childhood. Now that I look at it, I feel that shying away from the fact that I should make the first move in a girl has taught me to respect a girl for who she is. I did not mean it to be like that though. I should have understood “how a girl is perceived and looked at” and then respected them for who they are.

                  Once I was in this play I realized that somehow what I believed in from a very long time was true. Reinstated was the fact that respect for women is not to be taken for granted. Its awfully easy to overlook the trauma and the ups and downs that a girl goes through from a very young age. Barriers are a part of life and that’s how what we overcome each day.
The play started and as I mentioned earlier I had a seat that could see the actors and the audience on the other side. It was like a moment that I would recollect for a very long time, may be even decades.

                     A play touched upon quite a few aspects and I won’t want to write the synopsis of the play. The monologues that were dedicated to the various segments of women in society. These women who have learnt about it at a young age, some who have not, some who have been taught that pleasure is taboo were the soul of the play.

                    The choices that are made by a young man are tough in life; yet the choices that society makes at times make a young lady’s life tough. Apart from the difficulties that the male faces, the women has her own set of difficulties, which by any means does not mean that other difficulties are not in her way.

               Now, rather than straying away from the fact I’d like to sum up my experience in the play. The Vagina Monologues talks about its presence in a woman’s world and how it drastically changes the way she sees herself. A woman who is violated  a woman who uses her body to earn, a woman who is shunned away, a woman who is neglected, manipulated some how find their definition in the presence of it.

               A woman who is loved and is loved just the way she is, sees beauty in herself, a woman who was violated feels a constant disgust that eventually turns into a decision that leaves her not answering any calls to the need for sex. All these furthermore made a point that came across that the woman in each female has a perception of her vagina. If she is treated with love care and attention and sometimes, I said sometimes with gifts then she sees beauty in herself and finds the natural act very beautiful. But if any other way that is apart from that comes into picture then there there are dreadful retrospects that she sees in the natural act of love.

Leave a Reply

