Conversations with my mind – Shunky Chugani

Me: Hey I don’t think I’m doing that well. I mean I’m broke for most part of the month, I can barely be in a relationship for 7 months, I am very unstable. There are people my age who are going places and I seem to be unfocused, very mediocre.

Mind: What are you saying? You’ve done well for yourself. You’ve come a long way and there’s a long way to go from here too. But don’t be too hard on yourself.

Me: Yeah but there are guys who’ve done much more than I have. There are people who have been in relationships for over 5-7 years now, people facing problems that have much more gravity than mine do.

Mind: But you’ve faced your own set of problems. You picked your battles and you’ve been working tirelessly at it for as long as I can remember.

Me: How are you able to tell that?

Mind: Cos you put me on the job. You’re always making me think this, imagine that, multitask, play FIFA, skate. It’s all recreation for you and this is all keeping me active.

Me: Oh! is that why I feel high when I’m exhausted?

Mind: Well if you get high once in a while, I won’t be that exhausted, but yeah. That’s me stretching.

Me: But you’re doing so well. You’ve been working on my problems so well and chipping away one bit at a time. I don’t know what I would have done with out you.

Mind: Well, nevermind, I don’t think I’m doing that well. I try to do my best and then you feel I don’t put enough into it.

Me: No! No! No! I take that back. You’re doing well. I mean I’m doing well. We. We’re doing pretty well. I’ll chill once in a while. I’ve come a long way and now to make it all look worthless, is me being petty. We aren’t petty are we.

Mind: No, we aren’t.

Me: Good! So you wanna watch a movie?

Mind: yeah, lets watch something good. Maybe a nice Pacino movie.

Me: Insomnia it is!

Mind: Oh! For God-sake!

Leave a Reply

