Conversations with my Mind contd

Me: Hey do you think if I would have been awesome in high school, today I would have been a loser?

Mind: Not really! You would have been more popular. People around you would want you to fail. There would be a good chance you’d be into drugs by now. You’d also be more experienced, if you know what I mean.

Me: Yeah, but look at those guys now. I mean I used to admire the confidence and the way a few of my classmates used to carry themselves in high school. Today they’re not interested in life. They’re shady looking. They’ve even gotten unfunny over time.

Mind: That’s how life works. You give someone “Awesomeness”, at a young age and most of them can’t carry it for life.

Me: You mean there are a few people who were awesome back then and awesome now too?

Mind: Yeah I mean watch Neil Patrick Harris…err okay, how about Justin Timeberlake. He’s still awesome.

Me: Yeah, he makes me think that maybe if I were awesome in school I’d be able to carry it for life.

Mind: Your story may not have such a happy beginning, but that doesn’t make you who you are. It is the rest of your story, who you choose to be.

Me:That’s from Kung Fu Panda!

Mind: You got a dream… You gotta protect it. People can’t do something’ themselves, they wanna tell you that you can’t do it. If you want something’, go get it. Period.

Me: That’s from… Stop it. Stop throwing inspirational movie quotes at me.

Mind: All I’m trying to say is that the best part of the streets is not about what you got, it’s what you make of what you’ve got!

Me: That’s from Step Up – Streets… Hey! nice quote bro.

Mind: Chill! Don’t worry about not being awesome back then. You should worry that you aren’t even awesome now.

Leave a Reply

