“Look Ma’am Same Colours!”

I used to be a naughty kid. A brat. When I was in UKG and my brother was in 1st Standard, everyday during lunch I would meet his class teacher Ms. A.D. Beale. Since we in UKG wore coloured clothes and did not have uniform, I would point to a smidgen of colour on my clothes and do the same for Ma’am and say, “Look Miss Same Colour!”

She started calling me “Colours.” This woman was strict, had a warm heart and could tell when you’re lying. She was the best to have on your team and the worst if you’re playing against her. My first time on stage, I acted in a play as a girl. It was a play about two kids going to bed and their toys coming to life. Don’t I look pretty?

306759_10151020115689334_919401468_n.jpg

I was the cutest girl in school. It was a Boy’s School

I grew up in the school for 14 years, and all through my schooling life I’ve wished Ma’am, Good Morning to hear the words, “Good Morning Colours!” When I got trophies, I would be greeted with an approving smile that said “I’m proud of you!” There were times when my parents would have to struggle hard to make sure the school fees was paid and once due to the expenses, the consideration of changing schools came into my parents’ minds. However I’m told a few teachers told my parents that they would not let us go. Phew! That was close.

I moved out of school. I forgot to mention, I was am and will always be a Josephite. I got in college started working and got into the rigourous cycle of life to earn a living and do something I love.

I got on stage, became a comedian and started working at a place that was built for performances. Last night I walk into the Foyer of my Theatre to find myself in tears to see Ms. A. D. Beale, and hear the first word come out of her mouth. Colours!

What a moment. Over the last 2 years I’ve learnt how to meet and greet people, celebrities, loved ones. But how do you train yourself to meet someone who taught you how to move forward. How to be on time, be kind, sweet and be a good human being. I was touched. This is that moment.

12540840_10153825236049334_6640459232654498905_n.jpg

 

And after I took the photo I told ma’am, “Look Ma’am Same Colours!”

Leave a Reply

